Love and Romance

A love story

I’ve been in love. I’ve felt that all encompassing feeling. I know what it is like to feel like you’re floating. 

A few years ago, I met someone. 

Someone who immediately took my breathe away. I remember seeing him that night and it felt like the world had stopped spinning. 

My heart was racing and all I could see was him. 

Days went by and he had completely consumed my thoughts. 

He was thinking of me. The feelings between us were electric. Every time I saw him after that was like fire. I couldn’t breathe, I couldn’t move, I couldn’t think. 

I can remember the first time we kissed, the tension had been building for weeks and finally it happened. It was like every single part of me had been awakened. I remember him leaving after that kiss. And as I shut the door, I slid to the ground and couldn’t stop smiling. I’m sure I looked like a crazy person, but I didn’t care. 

Being in love doesn’t always mean you get together, get married, have babies and ultimately live your lives together. Sometimes the greatest loves end. Sometimes your greatest love may even be one sided. Although this might seem sad, and believe me, the sadness of losing this overwhelms me at times. It can also be beautiful. 

When I sit and think about the way I felt at that time, and that place, it helps me understand myself as a person. I was able to feel that. I was capable of completely letting go, and giving myself to my emotions. I wasn’t restricted in anyway during this time. I let myself feel love for someone else.

No, we did not end up together. Yes, it was very short lived. But I got to feel what it’s like. 

A love story doesn’t always have a happy ending. You may not always ride off into the sunset, but you felt the sunset within your heart. You felt the way they looked at you. The way they smiled at you. 

A great love, is one that you can look back on, without anger or hate, you can think of the love you felt, even if it was one sided, and know that in your heart, you are capable of feeling. You can think of this person, and instead of wishing them sadness, and loneliness, as you may feel sometimes, you wish them happiness, and you want nothing more than for their life to be exactly what they want, need, and deserve for it to be. 

3 thoughts on “A love story

Leave a Reply

